Marriage License

Marriage Licenses are valid (in the State of Wyoming only) for a period of one year from the date of issue. No blood test is required. Applicants must be at least 18 years of age to obtain a license without parental consent. For detailed information on marriage licenses, please read Wyoming State Statutes 20-1-101 through 20-1-113.

Applicants under the age of 16 must have a court order before a license can be issued.

Requirements


Before you apply for the license, you and your fiancée need to know and provide the following information on the Marriage License Application listed on the left side:
  • Father's place of birth
  • Mother's place of birth
  • Mother's maiden name
  • Bride's and groom's social security numbers. While it is not required, we prefer to have each person provide identification, which shows his/her social security number. This helps to avoid having the wrong information on a legal document, which may cause problems later on.
  • Residential address
  • Age of bride and groom
  • If prior marriages, you will need to provided the date and state of dissolution
Note: Rules were adopted by the State of Wyoming on April 21, 2008 as follows:
  1. Obtain the information required for the completion of the certificate with the exception of that regarding the ceremony
  2. Secure the signatures of the people to be married on the certificate. This means that both the bride and groom will be required to sign the application/certificate.

Fees

Item Cost
Marriage License $30
Certified Copy $5
Copy $1

Certified Copy

A certified copy of your marriage license may be required for social security card changes, driver's license changes or other items of legal importance to you and/or your family. Please view the Social Security Administration Application Form (PDF) for all important social security card changes.

Important Details


  • Our office hours are generally Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • The office is closed on recognized holidays.
  • If you need special requirements or consideration, please contact a staff member during normal business hours.
  • This office has copies of all documents relating to marriage licenses issued in this County since August 15, 1888 to the present.
  • The Vital Records Division 307-777-7595 at the State of Wyoming maintains copies of all Wyoming marriages from May 1941 to present.