Forms for buying or selling a vehicle:
Fees for Titles
• $15.00 for a new or duplicate title.
• $10.00 for a VIN inspection, if applicable, payable to city police, State
of Wy or County based on who performed the inspection.
• $20.00 to file a lien, if applicable
Buying or Selling A Vehicle
Buying or selling a vehicle and the process
of transferring the title can be complicated. There are many
variables associated with different types of transactions.
We have attempted to provide a fairly complete
guide to the documentation you will need to complete this
process, depending on the nature of the purchase or sale.
If the following links do not answer all your
questions, please feel free to call our office for additional
help. Many of the necessary forms are available for your
Never buy a vehicle if the seller cannot show you the title, unless you can
verify that the title is being held by a lien holder (bank, credit union, etc.).
When buying a vehicle, make sure all previous
liens have been properly released. Various states have different
requirements for releasing liens, so it is a good idea to
call our office to find out about the requirements of the
state from which the current title was issued.
You must be a Wyoming resident to obtain a
Wyoming certificate of title, and your physical residence
address must be placed on your title. We cannot use a post
On Wyoming titles, all sellers must sign in
the presence of a notary. Even in cases where there are two
names joined by and (example John and Jane Doe), both parties
must sign the seller's block on the reverse side of the title
and both signatures must be notarized.
If the title you receive is from any state
other than Wyoming, you must have the vehicle identification
number (VIN) inspected by a law enforcement officer (Douglas
or Glenrock Police Departments, Converse County Sheriff's
Office, Wyoming Highway Patrol). Be prepared to provide proof
of ownership (dealer's invoice or bill of sale) and identification.
If the vehicle you purchase was manufactured
within the past 10 years, you must have a conforming odometer
statement and a damage disclosure statement signed by both
the seller and the buyer.
Licensed Wyoming dealers are authorized to
issue a 45-day temporary permit for the vehicles they sell.
There is no extension beyond the 45 days.
When buying a vehicle from any licensed Wyoming
auto dealer, you must be provided with a Wyoming Sales/Use
Tax form. This form pertains to the sales tax due to the
Treasurer's Office, and a copy must accompany your title
Wyoming law requires that when an out-of-state
title carries a brand it must be placed on the new Wyoming
title. In other words, if your out-of-state title has "salvage," "rebuilt," "flood," etc.
typed on it, your Wyoming title will also have any such designation
Always bring your identification with you when
visiting the title office.
Titling New Vehicles from
a Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO)
In most cases, the dealer from whom you purchase
the new vehicle will forward your paperwork to our office
or to your bank or credit union if the vehicle is financed.
In some cases, the dealer or lender may have
you sign the application and you need only obtain a copy
of the title from the lender or our office, to use when registering
the vehicle with the Treasurer's Office and obtaining or
transferring license plates. If, however, you are coming
to our office to transfer the MSO into your name, you will
need the following: